Program Energy Smart - Residential Energy Efficiency Rebate Program (19 Municipalities)
Category Financial Incentive
Implementing sector Utility
Last Update
State Michigan
Administrator Franklin Energy
Sectors Residential

Franklin Energy Services has partnered with the Michigan Public Power Agency (MPPA), which is made up of 19 municipal utilities, to offer the Energy Smart Residential Energy Efficiency Rebate Program. Residential electric customers served by one of the 19 participating utilities are eligible for rebates on energy efficient upgrades. Purchased products must meet program standards in order to receive rebates, please refer to the Program Application for all equipment requirements and guidelines. The Energy Smart Program also offers rebates for the pickup and proper disposal of inefficient, yet still working, refrigerators ($50), room A/C units ($15), and dehumidifiers ($15). 

Application forms for each utility may be found on the program web site ( Please call 877-NRG-SAV1 (877-674-7281) for further information about the Energy Smart Program. The following utilities participate:

  • City of Charlevoix
  • Chelsea Electric Department
  • Croswell Light and Power Department
  •  City of Dowagiac
  • City of Eaton Rapids
  •  City of Escanaba
  •  Harbor Springs
  • Hart Hydro-Electric
  • Village of Paw Paw
  • City of Petoskey
  • Portland Light and Power Board
  •  City of Sebewaing
  • City of St. Louis
  •  City of Sturgis
  •  City of Wakefield
  • Zeeland Board of Public Works
Add new comment