Program City of Dallas - Green Building Policy for Municipal Buildings (Energy Efficiency Requirements)
Category Regulatory Policy
Implementing sector Local
Last Update
State Texas
Technologies Solar - Passive, Solar Water Heat, Solar Space Heat, Solar Photovoltaics, Daylighting

In 2003, the Dallas City Council passed a resolution requiring that all new municipal buildings larger than 10,000 square feet be constructed to meet U.S. Green Building Council Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Silver Certification standards. In 2006 the green building program policy was updated, increasing the requirement for new city-funded public works and transportation facilities under the 2006 bond program to LEED Gold Certification.

The first building completed under this policy was the Jack Evans Police Headquarters, which obtained LEED Silver certification in December 2005. As of 2015, Dallas has 26 LEED certified facilities: 14 silver (includes 1 LEED EB), 10 gold, 1 platinum, and 1 certified. Renovations and rehabilitation projects are also directed to use LEED principles to the greatest extent that they are reasonable and practical.

The Dallas City Council has also enacted green building requirements for new residential and commercial development. 

Add new comment