Program Building Energy Code
Category Regulatory Policy
Implementing sector State
Last Update
State Kansas
Sectors Residential

Much of the information presented in this summary is drawn from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Building Energy Codes Program and the Building Codes Assistance Project (BCAP). For more detailed information about building energy codes, visit the DOE and BCAP websites.

Kansas adopted the 2006 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) as "the applicable state standard" for commercial and industrial buildings. Enforcement is provided by local jurisdictions; the state corporation commission has no authority to adopt or enforce energy efficiency standards for residential, commercial, or industrial structures. Many of Kansas’s larger jurisdictions have adopted either the 2009 or 2012 IECC.

As part of its ongoing monitoring of energy codes adoption across Kansas, the Energy Division annually surveys selected cities and counties. The results of the 2013 survey are summarized in the Kansas Building Codes Summary-2013.

Kansas also requires the disclosure of specific energy-efficiency information on all new homes, using the Kansas Energy Efficiency Disclosure form (see KSA 66-1228). Homebuilders and/or realtors must provide this information to all potential buyers.

Add new comment