Program Building Energy Code
Category Regulatory Policy
Implementing sector State
Last Update
State Alaska
Sectors Residential

Much of the information presented in this summary is drawn from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Building Energy Codes Program and the Building Codes Assistance Project (BCAP). For more detailed information about building energy codes, visit the DOE and BCAP websites.

All new residential, commercial, and community-owned buildings constructed on or after January 1, 1992 that receive financing from the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation (AHFC) must comply with the Alaska Building Energy Efficiency Standard (BEES). BEES is based upon the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), AHRAE 62.2 2010, and Alaska-specific amendments to those standards. A building must have a 5 Star or higher energy rating. 

To comply with BEES, an authorized individual must complete a standardized compliance form that must be furnished with the AFHC financing application. The authorized individual may be the architect, engineer, an Alaska Licensed New Home Inspector, or a local building code official who has completed the BEES Compliance Certification. Proposed changes to the standards for residential buildings can be submitted to the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation, which reviews and acts on the proposals. Public hearings are required before changes are adopted.

Alaska revised its residential building code effective July 1, 2013 by adopting the 2012 IECC with Alaska-specific amendments. 

Alaska publishes a FY13 Progress Report detailing the process of the state's DOT and Public Facilities in reducing energy consumption in January 2014.

More information on Alaska's Energy Code can be found on the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation website.

Add new comment